NIH: Office of Disease Prevention



Panel Biographies

header image for Polyscistic Ovary Syndrome

Timothy R.B. Johnson, M.D., FACOG

Dr. Timothy R.B. Johnson joined the faculty of the University of Michigan in 1993 as the Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children and Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology. He is also Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Professor of Women’s Studies, and Research Professor in the Center for Human Growth and Development. His education and training have been at the University of Michigan, University of Virginia, and Johns Hopkins University. He is a Fellow of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and Fellow of the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine. He is active in international teaching and training, especially in Ghana, Africa, and is an Honorary Fellow of the West African College of Surgeons, Honorary Fellow of the Ghana College of Physicians and Surgeons, and Fellow ad eundem of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (London). He is the author of over 250 articles, chapters, and books. He has served on numerous editorial boards, study sections, professional committees, societies, and boards and is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. In 2005, Dr. Johnson was awarded the Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor of ACOG. He is Past President of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics and Editor of the International Journal of Gynecology and Obstetrics.

Lorrie Kline Kaplan, CAE

Ms. Lorrie Kline Kaplan received her bachelor’s degree cum laude in Economics and English from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1982, where she also was a member of Phi Beta Kappa. As a Peace Corps volunteer from 1984 to 1986, she specialized in maternal and child health, partnering with an auxiliary nurse midwife in a rural village in Paraguay, South America. Her career thereafter has focused on health communications, policy, economics, and planning, and she has worked in national professional healthcare associations since 1991 when she joined the National Community Pharmacists Association and the newly founded National Home Infusion Association (NHIA). In 1994, she founded NHIA’s Infusion magazine and served as Editor-in-Chief of the publication until 1997, when she became Executive Director of NHIA. She joined the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) as Executive Director in 2007. The professional association that represents certified nurse-midwives and certified midwives in the United States, ACNM is one of the oldest women’s healthcare organizations in the Nation. ACNM provides research, administers and promotes continuing education programs, establishes clinical practice standards, creates liaisons with state and Federal agencies and members of Congress, and publishes the peer-reviewed bimonthly Journal of Midwifery & Women’s Health. She has participated in action and advisory committees of the Joint Commission and the National Priorities Partnership, and has prepared and presented testimony on a range of national health policy issues for the National Uniform Claims Committee, the National Committee for Vital and Health Statistics, the Institute of Medicine, and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. She has been a Certified Association Executive (CAE), conferred by the American Society of Association Executives, since 2009.

Pamela Ouyang, M.D., M.B.B.S.

Dr. Pamela Ouyang received her medical school training at St. Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College in London, England. After completing initial postdoctoral training in England, she completed residency and fellowship training in cardiology at Johns Hopkins Hospital. Following her fellowship, she joined the faculty of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. She is a Professor of Medicine and faculty member of the Division of Cardiology. Dr. Ouyang was appointed Program Director of the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Clinical Research Unit in 2001. In 2007, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) funded the Institute for Clinical and Translational Research at Johns Hopkins, of which Dr. Ouyang is a Deputy Director.

Dr. Ouyang is an attending cardiologist at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, caring for patients in the Coronary Intensive Care Unit; she also teaches students, residents, and fellows from Johns Hopkins Hospital and Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. She is developing the Johns Hopkins Women’s Cardiovascular Health Center, located at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, with the mission to be a center of excellence for the assessment of cardiovascular risk factors and treatment of women with heart disease.

Robert A. Rizza, M.D.

Dr. Robert A. Rizza is Executive Dean for Research, Research Administrative Services at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. Dr. Rizza is recognized as an authority in the regulation of carbohydrate metabolism in humans. He has made seminal contributions to understanding how insulin, glucose, incretins, and the classic counterinsulin hormones glucagon, epinephrine, cortisol, and growth hormone regulate hepatic and extrahepatic glucose metabolism in diabetic and nondiabetic humans. His grant examining the regulation of carbohydrate metabolism in humans has been continuously funded by the NIH for 23 years, including 8 years as a MERIT Award. Dr. Rizza was a member of the Metabolism Study Section for 5 years and has served on or chaired numerous special emphasis panels since.

He was Chair of the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, Metabolism, and Nutrition at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester from 1992 to 2002 and is presently the Executive Dean for Research at the Clinic. He also has been a leader in national efforts to improve endocrinology training programs in healthcare delivery for people with endocrine disorders. He has served successively as the President of the Association of Program Directors of Endocrinology and Metabolism, and President of the Association of Subspecialty Professors; currently, he is the President-Elect of the American Diabetes Association. He also has received the American Diabetes Association’s Outstanding Physician Clinician Award as well as the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists’ Distinguished Service in Endocrinology Award.

Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives • National Institutes of Health • Bethesda, Maryland 20892